Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: butter vs ghee page

maxshralp is offline Junior Member

butter vs ghee

are there any benefits to grass fed butter instead of grass fed ghee? im eager to know.

Glamorama is offline Senior Member
    Vit K2? I'm off dairy, so only ghee for me.

maxshralp is offline Junior Member
    i thought they both have k2

rabraham2 is offline Senior Member
    noob here....what is ghee?
    A rose by any other name.

raney is offline Senior Member
    I've read (uncorroborated) statements that a percentage of the cholesterol in ghee may be oxidized by the heat introduced during the skimming process. You also have to consider that 30% of butterfat is unsaturated (albeit mostly MUFA), so also potentially oxidizable.

Otherwise, I think k2 levels are fairly consistent (15mcg / 100g serving) in pastured butter, which should carry over to the ghee in whole, as it is a fat soluble vitamin.

In short, I'd say no; you get the potential allergens of trace amounts of casein and lactose in butter, without any real benefits that aren't imparted to ghee. Butter sure is tasty though.
    Last edited by raney; 01-16-2012 at 09:32 PM.

Glamorama is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by rabraham2 View Post
    noob here....what is ghee?
    Clarified butter... no casein or lactose.

rabraham2 is offline Senior Member
    ah. interesting. I didn't know that...maybe i did....might have heard it mentioned on "How It's Made" or the food network....i can't remember. But thanks for answering my question!
    A rose by any other name.

ASmallOne is offline Senior Member

another butter v ghee question

i've had a strange experience and i'm curious if i'm the only one
    ghee upsets my stomach (bloating and sort of a sloshy liquid feeling), and so does conventional butter (the same), but the kerrygold grassfed seems to be just fine.

for the life of me I can't reason why, but if it's something systemic I'd like to know the cause... ideas?