Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is there a Paleo "tortilla"? page

Sunnivara is offline Senior Member

Is there a Paleo "tortilla"?

Shop Now
    One of the biggest obstacles for me to go primal was the idea of giving up Mexican food. I LOVE Mexican food! The idea of never having a burrito or taco again makes me sad. Is there a way to make a corn tortilla equivalent with acceptable ingredients? Almond flour? Coconut flour? Or??? I'm new to eating this way so I haven't tried making any flour-like foods with primal ingredients.

parakeet is offline Member
    Replacement food doesn't really work very well for me. I think it's because nothing really compares to the real thing. It's nice to have a "food holder" that works like a tortilla, though. A couple of things I have used in the past are romaine lettuce leaves or spring roll rice paper. When I've used the spring roll rice paper, I fill them with whatever filling I'm using, roll them up burrito style, spritz with a little fat of some kind and pop them under the broiler to crisp them up a little. Lettuce leaves we just fill and eat.

JennaRose is offline Senior Member
    try a lettuce leaf, that works great.

otherwise, just get an organic sprouted corn tortilla--that shit's good and it won't kill ya
    Last edited by JennaRose; 02-28-2012 at 04:23 PM.

missblue is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Sunnivara View Post
    One of the biggest obstacles for me to go primal was the idea of giving up Mexican food. I LOVE Mexican food! The idea of never having a burrito or taco again makes me sad. Is there a way to make a corn tortilla equivalent with acceptable ingredients? Almond flour? Coconut flour? Or??? I'm new to eating this way so I haven't tried making any flour-like foods with primal ingredients.