Thread: PB and Diverticulitis - a fiber issue page

dash is offline Member

PB and Diverticulitis - a fiber issue

Primal Fuel
    So, I'm hoping my fellow Groks can help me track down some resources relating to a primal or paleo diet and diverticulitis. I've been trawling the web and haven't had much success with my usual sources (MDA, Whole Health Source, Eades)

I've been enjoying eating primally for about five months now and have reached a point where I would like to have a go at converting my parents. Both are fairly healthy eaters to begin with (they enjoy meat, seafood and eggs, use plenty of olive oil, though of course still eat lots of whole wheat bread, pasta, etc.) but I think the biggest stumbling block to converting them is that about a year ago my mom had a problem with diverticular disease/diverticulitis (not sure on the specifics of how these two differ). No surgery or anything needed, but the doctor did recommend that she follow a high fiber (25-35 g/day) diet, which she accomplishes with lots of bran cereal, vegetables and fiber bars.

I know it's very possible to get that amount on fiber with PB (I often track my intakes with Cron-O-Meter and without really trying I often get 25g or more of fiber in a day) but I would really like some articles or links that shed more light on the matter. My parents are both pretty scientifically minded, so they need more than just my say-so to believe something!

Also (poop talk warning!) I know that on PB, while by bowel movements have been regular and um "well formed" they are nothing close to the rather copious "logs" that are the darling of the high fiber supporters and I imagine this would be quite a worry for someone like my mom who's been told that to stay healthy she MUST eat tons of fiber and keep everything moving...

Any links, book recommendations, personal experiences, etc. would be most welcome!

Rivvin is offline Senior Member